OXFORDSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of the meeting held on Tuesday, 14 May 2013 commencing at 10.00 am and finishing at 11.40 am.

Present:

Councillor Don Seale – to open the Meeting Councillor Timothy Hallchurch MBE - in the Chair

Councillors:

ete Handley anny Hannaby rs Judith Heathcoat lary Hibbert-Biles bare hn Howson n Hudspeth bb Johnston chard Langridge ewart Lilly prraine Lindsay-Gale andy Lovatt ark Lygo eron Mallon narles Mathew aroline Newton avid Nimmo Smith ei Ower
eil Owen

Zoé Patrick **Glynis Phillips** Susanna Pressel Laura Price Anne Purse G.A. Reynolds Alison Rooke Rodney Rose Gillian Sanders John Sanders Les Sibley Roz Smith Val Smith Lawrie Stratford John Tanner Melinda Tilley Michael Waine **Richard Webber** David Williams **David Wilmshurst**

The Council considered the matters, reports and recommendations contained or referred to in the agenda for the meeting and decided as set out below. Except insofar as otherwise specified, the reasons for the decisions are contained in the agenda and reports, copies of which are attached to the signed Minutes.

22/13 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN FOR THE 2013/14 COUNCIL YEAR (Agenda Item 1)

Before inviting nominations for the office of Chairman of the Council, Councillor Don Seale (the retiring Chairman) addressed the meeting, reflecting on his year in office and his time as a Councillor at Oxfordshire County Council. He thanked the Vice-Chairman (Councillor Hallchurch), his wife and his Personal Assistant (Sara Lenihan) for all their help and support during the year. He then presented Sara Lenihan with flowers as a token of his appreciation.

Councillors Hudspeth, Brighouse and Patrick paid tribute to Councillor Seale.

Councillor Seale then invited nominations for the office of Chairman of the Council for the 2013/14 Council Year.

Councillor Hudspeth proposed and Councillor Patrick seconded that Councillor Hallchurch be elected Chairman of the Council for the 2013/14 Council Year.

There being no other nominations and no dissent, Councillor Hallchurch was declared elected by a show of hands (nem con). He read and signed the statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

RESOLVED: (nem con) that Councillor Timothy Hallchurch be elected as Chairman of the Council for the 2013/14 Council Year.

23/13 ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN FOR THE 2013/14 COUNCIL YEAR

(Agenda Item 2)

The Chairman called for nominations for the Office of Vice-Chairman. Councillor Patrick proposed and Councillor Brighouse seconded that Councillor Anne Purse be elected as Vice-Chairman of the Council for the 2013/14 Council Year. There being no other nominations and no dissent, Councillor Purse was declared elected by a show of hands (nem con) Vice-Chairman of the Council for the 2013/14 Council Year. She read and signed the statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

RESOLVED: (nem con) that Councillor Anne Purse be elected Vice-Chairman of the Council for the 2013/14 Council Year.

24/13 MINUTES

(Agenda Item 3)

The Minutes of the Meeting held on 2 April 2013 were approved and signed.

25/13 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

(Agenda Item 4)

An apology for absence was received from Councillor Kevin Bulmer.

26/13 OFFICIAL COMMUNICATIONS (Agenda Item 6)

The Chairman reported as follows:

A Group Photo had been scheduled to take place on the rising of the Annual General meeting. Members were asked to go to the Common hall Café following the meeting, where further advice would be given.

There would be two Extraordinary Meetings of the County Council following the formal group photograph. The first meeting was due to start at 12.30 pm and a bell would be sounded to call members to the Council Chamber.

There would an opportunity for members to catch up on post-election administration directly following the Annual General Meeting. Staff from Democratic Services would be located in the Common Hall Café to assist members.

27/13 RETURNING OFFICER'S REPORT

(Agenda Item 7)

The Council had before them a report by the Returning Officer (Annex 1, Schedule of Business) setting out the results of the election of Councillors on 2 May 2013.

Councillor Beal indicated that his name had been misspelt in the report.

RESOLVED: (nem con) to note the Returning Officer Report at Annex 1 to the Schedule of Business, subject to the entry for Councillor Beal being amended from 'Beale' to Beal.

28/13 CONSTITUTION REVIEW FOLLOWING THE ELECTIONS (Agenda Item 8)

The Council had before them a report which sought agreement to the Monitoring Officer making any necessary changes to the constitution between the period of the County Council elections and the meeting of County Council in July.

RESOLVED: (on a motion by Councillor Hallchurch, seconded by Councillor Anne Purse and carried nem con) to authorise the Monitoring Officer to make any necessary changes to the Constitution, if required, following the Election to allow the Council to operate lawfully.

29/13 OFFICER SCHEME OF DELEGATION

(Agenda Item 9)

The Council had before them a report by the Monitoring Officer (CC9) which set out the proposed changes to the Council's Officer Scheme of Delegation set out in the Constitution.

RESOLVED: (on a motion by Councillor Hallchurch, seconded by Councillor Purse and carried nem con) to note the amendment to Article 11 of the Constitution identified in paragraphs 4 & 5 above and to approve the Scheme of Officer Delegation contained in Part 7.3 of the Council's Constitution.

30/13 REVISED COMMITTEE DATES FOLLOWING THE ELECTION (Agenda Item 10)

The Council had before them a revised meetings schedule for 2013/14 (CC10) which had been drawn up following the decision taken at Council to adopt new Governance arrangements.

RESOLVED: (on a motion by Councillor Hallchurch, seconded by Councillor Purse and carried nem con) to agree the revised meetings schedule for 2013/14.

31/13 APPOINTMENTS

(Agenda Item 11)

(1) The office of Leader of the Council.

Councillor Lilly moved and Councillor Greene seconded that Councillor Hudspeth be appointed to the office of Leader of the Council for the 4-year Council term.

There being no other nominations or dissent it was:-

RESOLVED: (nem con) to appoint Councillor Hudspeth to the office of Leader of the Council for the 4-year Council term.

(1a) to note the following appointments to the Cabinet:

Deputy Leader of the Council	Councillor Rose
Finance	Councillor Fatemian
Public Health & the Voluntary Sector	Councillor Hibbert-Biles
Adult Social Care	Councillor Heathcoat
Environment	Councillor Nimmo-Smith
Policy co-ordination	Councillor Chapman
Children, Education & Families	Councillor Tilley
Business & Customer Services	Councillor Carter
Community Services	Councillor lyndsey-Gale

and to note the proposed new Cabinet Member portfolios set out in Annex 2 to the Schedule of Business.

(2) The office of Leader of the Opposition.

RESOLVED: to note that Councillor Brighouse was the Leader of the Opposition.

in the Chair

Date of signing